If you want to know what we can expect in New York when the SAFE Act is expanded, read on.
You didn’t think New York’s anti-Second Amendment bill was the end, did you? The oppressive SAFE Act was forced into law by Cuomo using his usual bully tactics.
There will be no end until we all lose our guns or go to jail. The liberals supposedly care about minorities. This will hurt the the most.
NY Scope Voter App published the proposed bills that will be voted on in 2015.
If Cuomo is re-elected, he will sign them.
The following sample of proposed bills affect every New Yorker who has a gun. They criminalize every aspect of owning a gun with the goal of making penalties for making a mistake so severe that no one will want to own one. They are making felons out of legal gun owners.
- Safe Storage – Criminalizing gun storage. They hope to require weapons be stored with a safety locking device or in a safe storage depository when left outside the immediate possession or control of the owner or other lawful possessor. Removal from the premises where a firearm was stored unsafely subjects violator to a class A misdemeanor and to a class E felony if injury or death occurs to another person, punishable by imprisonment, fine, license revocation and weapon surrender.
- Microstamping – Requires all semiautomatic pistols manufactured or delivered to any licensed dealer in NYS to be capable of producing a unique alpha-numeric or geometric code on at least two locations on each cartridge case expended from such pistol. Makes it a class D felony to willfully deface a microstamping component of a semi-automatic pistol, subjecting violators to imprisonment, fine or both.
- Fifty Caliber Ban (Read carefully shotgunners that weren’t botherd by NY SAFE) – Bans the possession, sale or transfer of 50-Caliber or larger weapons. Exemptions include any muzzle loading rifle or shotgun with a rifled bore and 50-caliber weapons purchased prior to the law’s effective date that are validly registered (similar to SAFE Act assault weapon registration).
- Gun Dealer Insurance Price increase anyone? Requires the imposition of restrictive business practices, record keeping and reporting for lawful gun dealers including requiring that every dealer carry insurance coverage against liability (at least $1 million per incident)for damage to property and for injury or death of any person resulting from the sale, delivery, lease, or transfer of a firearm, rifle or shotgun.
- Prohibits the Sale or Transfer in NY of guns that are not child proof – Prohibits the sale or transfer of a “child operated firearm” to another person. Defines “child operated firearm” as a pistol or revolver which does not contain a childproofing device, which would prevent an average five-year-old from operating it. Passed Assembly but died in Senate.
- 30 day limit on gun purchase and record keeping nightmare – Prohibits a person from purchasing more than one firearm from a dealer within a 30-day- period. Prohibits a dealer from selling or transferring a firearm to a person who has purchased or taken possession of a firearm within the previous 30 days. Requires dealers to request approval for sale from the Division of Criminal Justice Services (DCJS). Violators are subject to a class A misdemeanor, punishable by imprisonment, fine or both.
- 10 day wait period on gun purchases – Prohibits a person from taking possessionof any firearm from a dealer unless 10 days have elapsed from the date the dealer initiated the National Instant Criminal Background Check System (NICS) background check of the purchaser and has received notice that the purchaser has passed all background checks required by federal, state and local law. Violators would be subject to class A misdemeanor, punishable by imprisonment, fine or both.
- Ammunition Coding Bill – A8108 Camara Same as S4107 Adams – Requires every manufacturer to code any ammunition for handguns and assault weapons sold or manufactured after January 1, 2014. “Coded ammunition” means a bullet carrying a unique identifier that has been applied by etching onto the base of the bullet projectile. Directs the State Police to create a database on all sales, loans, and transfers of ammunition within the state. Requires vendors to provide detailed information on ammunition purchasers to the database and charge the purchaser an additional $.005 per bullet or round to be deposited into a new Database Fund. Requires all non-coded ammunition be disposed of by January 1, 2015 or subject sellers or owners of uncoded ammunition to a class A misdemeanor. Provides a three-year exemption for persons with valid hunting license. Willfully failing to comply would subject manufacturers and vendors to fines.
- Gun Rights Stripping Bill – A6390O’Donnell Same as S5432 Parker – Makes anyone convicted of a family offense crime (e.g., criminal mischief, harassment) ineligible to possess a rifle, shotgun, antique firearm, black powder rifle, black powder shotgun, or any muzzle-loading firearm.
- Manditory Insurance for Gun Owners – A3908-AOrtiz No Same as – Require persons owning a firearm (not defined in the bill), prior to ownership or within 30 days of enactment for current owners, to obtain a liability insurance policy with a limit of at least $250,000. Failure to do so would result in the immediate revocation of the firearm owner’s registration, license and any other privilege to own a firearm.
- Reduces Pistol Permit from 5 years to 2
- Another 30 day bill for gun purchase – A9468 Kavanagh Same as S7132 Gianaris – Limits buyers to purchasing one firearm in a 30-day period and requires a 10-day waiting period before a buyer can take possession. Requires dealers to report any person who attempts to purchase a firearm, rifle or shotgun but has been denied by the NICS background check to the State Police within 24 hours. Requires gun dealer employees handling weapons to pass background checks.
- Minimum age for a gunshow over 12
There are many more bills. Read about them here.