Here Are the 8 Republicans Who Won’t Impeach Mayorkas


Eight House Republicans voted against a resolution to impeach Homeland Security Secretary Alejandro Mayorkas as Secretary of Homeland Security, reported The Hill.

In a 209-201 vote, the House chamber decided to shelve the resolution, first introduced by Rep. Marjorie Taylor Greene (R-Ga.), and supported a motion to refer it to the Homeland Security Committee.

In other words, they could be moved forward through that committee.

Greene accused Mayorkas of “willful admittance of border crossers” and said he had a duty to protect the U.S. from an “invasion.”

The Georgia lawmaker also accuses him of violating the Secure Fence Act, a 2006 law that demands perfection at the border by declaring the border operationally secure only if no people or contraband improperly enter the country.

Here are the eight House Republicans who voted against Greene’s resolution:

  1. Rep. Patrick McHenry (N.C.)
  2. Rep. Tom McClintock (Calif.)
  3. Rep. John Duarte (Calif.)
  4. Rep. Virginia Foxx (N.C.)
  5. Rep. Darrell Issa (Calif.)
  6. Rep. Cliff Bentz (Ore.)
  7. Rep. Ken Buck (Colo.)
  8. Rep. Mike Turner (Ohio.)

Duarte told Axios before the vote that he opposed an impeachment since it hadn’t gone through regular order and it would take too much time to debate. They had to get the spending bill through.

“We don’t have time to waste,” Duarte told the media outlet.

In a statement, McClintock said that while Mayorkas hasn’t done an efficient job as Homeland Security secretary, impeachment inquiries shouldn’t be used to punish someone over any political disagreement, noting that it is “antithetical to the fundamental architecture of the Constitution.”

Hasn’t done an efficient job? That’s an understatement.

A political disagreement? You mean open borders and unvetted foreigners pouring in is a political disagreement? That’s a Republican saying that?

5 1 vote
Article Rating
Notify of

1 Comment
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
2 months ago

This is why I don’t give to the RNC